Mobile Education

25 Jan

One of my classes has required us to do a very open ended assignment about integrating technology in the classroom.  It is a math education class so we are trying to integrate the technology into math but not specifically.  The group that I am in is looking into using cell phones in our classrooms.

The big question is: Distraction or Tool?  Cell phones are becoming more and more a part of daily life and is something we have to think about.  While it is important to think about the negative aspects of them the question really should be how we use it.  Cell phones could be a dangerous tool if they aren’t used properly but also an incredible asset if incorporated properly.

I found a website about Thinking Mobile Phones For Learning and there seems to be a lot of good things on there.  I’m pretty overwhelmed with the amount of resources there are and really don’t know where to start.

I really want to not only research how the cell phones can be used but also how teachers right now are using them.  I want to know about their reactions to these things and ask questions.  I want to know if it works, what works good, what works bad and go from there.

This is just a starting point for me, I’m just going to have to dig in and start learning.  If anyone has any feedback, resources, stories… anything, it would be greatly appreciated!

All of the information we are collecting is going onto our wiki 2011emth351.

6 Responses to “Mobile Education”

  1. lisamonthie January 25, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    I think using cell phones in class is a great way to engage students and a great tool to take advantage of. There are more and more sites that allow cell phone voting but my favorite is PollEverywhere. The teacher can set up open ended questions and multiple choice questions to get immediate feedback from students. I normally start and end a lesson with an open ended question, and use the multiple choice options during the lesson.

    If the students have smartphones, I allow them to use those in class. The apps supplement and complement my lesson. Sometimes, I even ask a question and let them text someone outside of our classroom for the answer or that person’s opinion. It adds another dimension to what we are doing in my classroom.

    One of the drawbacks is the fact that not every student has a cell phone. PollEverywhere allows for online voting as well. So, the student can hop on my computer or computers in the lab and vote. I also have many people on Twitter, SKYPE, etc that a student can quickly ask if they can’t via cell phone. Hope these ideas help…..Lisa

  2. Craig Mantin January 26, 2011 at 3:28 am #

    My district has embraced smart phones and we are in our 2nd year of a 1:1.
    You can read about it on my blog as well as view CNN’s video report.

    http://nrhs.nrcsd.org/blogs/cmantin/post/2010/01/Behind-the-scenes-of-a-Mobile-11
    http://www.nrcsd.org/

    Hope that helps.

  3. Mel Gibb January 26, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    I would suggest you follow @tonitones on twitter, she did an efellowship here in New Zealand on Mobile phones in Education and still researches and facilitates in this area.

    I would recommend reading her blog: http://tonitwiss.com/ but if you get in touch with her via Skype or email I am sure she would be happy to share her knowledge with you.

    Mel

  4. Cale Birk (@birklearns) January 26, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    Here is a link for you to have a look at.

    http://bryanjack.edublogs.org/2010/11/18/essay-as-blogpost-cellphones-in-the-classroom/comment-page-1/

    If you follow what Google is doing, they are going after the phone market very aggressively–this tells me that they are realizing that the market has incredible potential. I feel that this is a technology that we at schools should leverage–we will never be able to keep up with the technology that kids have in their hands.

    I would also suggest that you check out Douglas Fisher, an author in San Diego. He has excellent ideas in terms of courtesy policies around cell phones, and educating kids on effective use rather than ascribing to the culture of prohibition.

    A few ideas for you.

  5. samanthadouglas January 26, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Thank you so much everyone, this is a lot of help

  6. Angus January 26, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Hey Sam,

    Good work! I think it is imprtant to remember that Cell phones aren’t “just becoming” a part of everyday life, they are there, front and center.

    Start simple. What is most important to you? Texting? Phoning? Your contact list?(Your #1 fear of losing if your phone gets run over by a truck) Apps? Calendar? Calculator?

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

