If At First You Don’t Succeed…

8 Feb

“Sometimes you learn more from failure than you do from success, and in some ways it’s better to have failure at the beginning of your career, or your life. ” – Michael Crawford

Today I learned a lot.  I learned, most especially, that I am very hard on myself.  I don’t think that this is a bad thing, but if I do it in an unhealthy way then it will be.  This is why I am on here, thinking about the good things and bad things that happened today.  I am calm now, but an hour ago it was much different.  Today I held my first event for the Education Students Society as VP Social, an event which I have planned basically by myself.  I don’t really think of it as a success, but many of the people I have talked to do.

Pizza and Pop in the lounge.  Simple enough event, should be fairly straightforward.  Not so much.  Lets go back a week and think about the things that I had to do for this event.  Ordering the pizza was the hardest thing, figuring out the University rules about it and everything, and choosing how much.  Clearly, I underestimated the amount of people who would come to the event.

The point of this event was to get rid of the pop that we have had since September because of a cancelled BBQ, and I wanted to give something back to the students, really give them a reason to come into the lounge and be apart of our student society.  I chose to sell pizza and pop, combined together, for a dollar.  It was a really nice thing to give to our faculty, considering we didn’t actually make money but lost money on this event.  We knew we wouldn’t be making money, that wasn’t the point, this was to get faculty involvement.

We sold out in less than 30 minutes.  For some that may seem wonderful, we got a huge turnout in such a short time, considering we haven’t got nearly as many people to any other ESS event yet all year.  For others, I have a lack of organization skills.  I wasn’t feeling great about running out, but I wasn’t feeling bad, so I went back to my class to debrief my event with them.  I wasn’t very happy to receive a text telling me to come back to the lounge because people were talking about “my poor organization skills”.

I am completely disheartened.  Not only am I worried about my event next week that is supposed to sell pizza, and there is a liquor license so it has to stay the entire time, but now I actually realize that there are people who will criticize me.  I thought I understood this fact, but actually seeing it and hearing it was hard.  Especially considering I have three events planned in the next two weeks, and that’s about as many that we had last semester.  I am trying to take initiative and do things, it’s very hard when all you hear is negative feedback.

Fact: You can’t please everyone.

Fact: Someone will ALWAYS complain

I am trying to remember these things, and stay on the positive and just realize I can learn from this.  I have never done an event, and I had no events to go from, literally nothing.  I have been planning things completely on my own.  I am compiling a binder so that next years VP knows what I did and can learn from that and fix it.  At least someone will have an easier time.

Next week will rock.  If I continue to think that I will fail at my event, I will.  My attitude matters, so what I really need to do right now is stay positive.

Leave a Reply

