What It Means To Inquire

10 Feb

Inquiry Based Lessons have been a topic in all of my education classes right now, it’s the way to teach.  This theory of constructivism has been something that has been discussed multiple times, though i may not have known it, throughout my education career, but very heavily this semester.  The first thing that I have looked at, in response to hearing of this way of teaching, was how much I have been exposed to this in my high school and elementary career.

The interesting thing is that I have had quite a few memorable lessons in my middle years schooling that were inquiry based, even though that was longer ago.  My greatest inquiry lesson was cookie mining, and nothing comes as close to that memory.  In high school I can think of few things that were more inquiry based than others, but very few actual experiences.  I was asked once to create my own science lab once, and the assignment may have been more by accident than anything.

Thinking about making a lesson more inquiry based has a lot of repercussions of how I look at education and especially what my role will be as a teacher.  A big thing with the inquiry based lessons is that the students are asking questions and coming up with the knowledge as themselves.  My role will be to guide and facilitate this inquiry.

After the last couple of weeks we have seen multiple inquiry based lessons and I have noticed how very crucial questioning is.  Wording a question is something that might seem very simple, but can really make or break a lesson.  After my inquiry lesson I was frustrated because after doing it I could see where it went wrong, but the wonderful thing that happened was we did it for our class so I could actually modify my lesson.  Questioning  in a way that helps students connect to the information they need is something that I’m not terrible at but I could use a lot of work.

Constructivism is student centered and is what drives students to explore through a topic.  Success is a big factor in students, especially with people’s such poor math attitudes.  If a student has success when they start a lesson it affects various aspects of what happens like how they are going to continue on with the lesson, how much they will learn, and their behaviour, to name a few.  Building on what a student knows and slowly adding in new concepts is beneficial because both the student and teacher know where the prior knowledge is coming from and it leads into knowing where they are going to go with this knowledge.

If I can foster success within a student, that will be the first step in being able to foster any growth within them.

Leave a Reply

